Welcome to the United Arab Emirates

مرحبا بكم في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

Click destinations for more highlights

Dubai Landscape
Burj Al Arab
One and Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Ski Dubai

United Arab Emirates (UAE)


The United Arab Emirates, sometimes simply called the Emirates or the UAE, is a country located in the southeast end of the Arabian Peninsula on the Persian Gulf, bordering Oman to the east and Saudi Arabia to the south, as well as sharing sea borders with Qatar, Iran and Pakistan.


Established on 2 December 1971, the country is a federation of seven emirates (equivalent to principalities). Each emirate is governed by a hereditary emir who jointly form the Federal Supreme Council which is the highest legislative and executive body in the country. One of the emirs is selected as the President of the United Arab Emirates. The constituent emirates are Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Quwain. The capital is Abu Dhabi, which is one of the two centers of commercial and cultural activities, together with Dubai.[6] Islam is the official religion of the UAE, and Arabic is the official language.